Articles

entropic yarden

In Uncategorized on 09/21/2012 by jenn in the yarden

Well, It’s not actually the Yarden that is particularly suffering from entropy. It’s the seemingly everything I use that is falling apart: the security gate handle needs to be replaced; I need to call the freezer repair guy to figure out why nothing is solid in our “deep freezer”; the cold water handle in the shower doesn’t shut off properly; and I just had two tires on the car replaced only to be told that the brakes need to be replaced as well.

What a relief to enter a section of the universe where things don’t seem determined to break down into their most simple parts. It’s no wonder the Yarden is a retreat. Which reminds me that I actually have a Retreat in the Yarden. It is surrounded by permeable walls and is well shaded by the large fig and pineapple guava trees. A garden couch and chairs invite the garden observer to sit and consider the ants without feeling like a sluggard. This is a place where I can remove myself, albeit briefly, from the realm of entropy.
Where is your retreat?

3 Responses to “entropic yarden”

  1. oooh I love your retreat…I’m working on mine it will probably start behind my neighbor’s garage where I would to paint a mural and and a pergola from my house to shade an outdoor sitting room

  2. Laguna Beach

  3. Thank you for the reminder that my garden is a retreat and not just an area for work. Last Saturday I soaked my head in the hose while watering and enjoyed the sunshine while my hair dried.

Leave a Reply

