Articles

my compost screen

In Uncategorized on 06/28/2011 by jenn in the yarden

Ever since Mother’s Day, I’ve been amending the Yarden with beautiful, screened compost. It was my wish on May 8th, to come home from church and build a compost screen with my children.

I had recently salvaged some dresser drawers from a North Long Beach alley for the pull handles for another project. So the kids and i kicked out the cardboard bottom of one drawer and fastened 1/2″ hardware cloth to the drawers. Voila, an implement to screen out the big, undecomposed pieces from my finished compost amendment!

It’s a special moment for me: I’ve wanted a compost screen since 1992, and now, at last, I have my own!

Now what to do with the other two drawers…wanna compost screen? Let me know!

One Response to “my compost screen”

  1. Show us how you use it

Leave a Reply

