Articles

millenium omnivore

In Uncategorized on 01/31/2011 by jenn in the yarden

My brother-in-law works for Hasbro. You know, the TOY company…much to the advantage of my two young children. Their uncle revels in gifting them with big ticket items. The operative word: BIG. The latest acquisition was the Millenium Falcon. No, not a model of it. The one that they actually used in the filming! It’s huge! At least, it seems so in our teeny livingroom. Maybe I am misusing hyperbole, but to quote Uncle Ben, himself: “I got Eli a toy that he won’t be able to lift until he’s 15!” There are so many bells and whistles and noises and lights on this thing, it’s overwhelming for any 6 year old!
I am able to relate to my son as I (finally) finished reading Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. (here’s the connection to the Yarden!) There are so many bells, whistles, and ideas to consider, I’m overwhelmed!
Short of offering a critique of the material, I am glad I read the book. Broadly, I believe his research to be sound and I enjoyed learning about the American food systems. I appreciate the ways in which Pollan investigated the subject of our means of getting food from farm or “farm” to table or “table”.
While I don’t intend to drastically change my or my family’s eating habits all at once, I plan to implement measures in making more sustainable food choices…
…most notably: stepping up my efforts to GMO: Grow My Own!
The Yarden and Plot 37 squares are all maxed out, and I am beginning to farm my friends’ backyard in Bixby Knolls.
I’ll elaborate at my next class:
Wednesday, February 2, 2011
6-8:30pm
Heartwell Park Community Center
http://www.longbeach.gov/park/classregistration/

One Response to “millenium omnivore”

  1. You need to coin the phrase “GMO” its the beginning of new trend! well done.
    Thanx for the insight.

Leave a Reply

